Islands Recovering From Pandemic

Direct international flights to Bali have resumed for the first time in two years as Indonesia opens the resort island to foreign travelers from all countries, but mandatory quarantine remains in place for all visitors.

In October, Bali announced that it would welcome foreign arrivals from countries that meet World Health Organization criteria, but there were no direct international flights to Bali until last week, when Garuda Indonesia brought a plane full of visitors from Tokyo. Singapore Airlines will introduce a regular direct route to and from Denpasar in Bali starting Feb. 16th.

Indonesia opened the island of Bali to all foreign travelers in February. Fully vaccinated travelers must quarantine for five days in a hotel or on a liveaboard boat certified by the Ministry of Tourism and Creative Economy, and travelers who have received one dose of COVID-19 vaccine must quarantine for seven days.

The country’s latest surge in omicron cases has been concentrated in Jakarta, but infections are rising across Java and Bali.

VISA: Do not travel to Indonesia unless you currently hold a visa. U.S. citizens are eligible for travel/tourism visas to Indonesia, but the visa-on-arrival program remains suspended.

ENTRY: The following airports allow foreign nationals to enter Indonesian territory:

  • Soekarno Hatta, Banten (Jakarta);
  • Juanda, East Java;
  • Ngurah Rai, Bali;
  • Hang Nadim, Riau Islands;
  • Sam Ratulangi, North Sulawesi; and
  • Zainuddin Abdul Madjid, West Nusa Tenggara.

QUARANTINE: Anyone arriving in Indonesia must undertake a mandatory quarantine at facilities designated by the Indonesian government â€“with all costs borne by the traveler.  As of February 16, 2022:

  • fully vaccinated travelers (full-course of COVID-19 vaccines, plus booster) must quarantine for three days;
  • travelers who have received the full-course of COVID-19 vaccines, but no booster must quarantine for five days;
  • Travelers who have received only the first dose of a COVID-19 vaccine must quarantine for seven days; and
  • Children under 18 years of age obey the quarantine regulations imposed on their parents or caregivers/travel companions.

PCR Tests: The first test will be administered upon arrival and the second on the day prior to release from quarantine. If you test positive prior to release from quarantine, you may request a verification test through a prescribed list of medical labs.

If a traveler tests positive for COVID-19 at the airport upon arrival or on the day before release from quarantine, and the traveler presents no symptoms or mild symptoms, the traveler will be isolated or treated in an isolation hotel or centralized isolation facility. If a traveler tests positive and presents moderate or severe symptoms, the traveler will be transferred to a hospital or designated isolation facility.

Even if the traveler is asymptomatic there will be no release from the isolation facility without two negative PCR tests and completion of the quarantine period. These procedures are strictly enforced. The costs for the stay in the hospital or isolation facility are the responsibility of the traveler.

VACCINATION: All adult travelers, with limited exceptions, must be vaccinated.

DOMESTIC TRAVEL RESTRICTIONS: There are restrictions on intercity or interstate travel. COVID-19 negative test results are required for domestic flights. 

Few regions have been as heavily affected as the island of Bali, where tourism makes up an amazing 54 percent of the local economy.

Bali sealed its borders to international visitors in April 2020, the month after the World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a global pandemic, and plans for a reopening have been delayed several times due to fresh outbreaks.

Bali welcomed just 45 foreign visitors last year after 1.05 million in 2020 and 6.2 million international visitors in 2019, the year before the pandemic hit.

Language and Travel Guide to Indonesia

Indonesia is the fourth-largest nation in the world with more than 267 million people. The country is comprised of more than 17,500 islands, including Bali, Borneo, Java, Lombok, Sumatra and Sulawesi.